An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

131st Bomb Wing CES members earn 2022 Air National Guard Civil Engineer Awards

  • Published

WHITEMAN AIR FORCE BASE, MO -- One Airman and two civilians with the 131st Bomb Wing’s 131st Civil Engineer Squadron have received 2022 Air National Guard Civil Engineer Awards and will represent the Air National Guard on the Air Force level.

The program recognizes outstanding civil engineer Airmen and civilians across the Air Force.

“These awards signify that our winners have been vetted by independent reviewers and identified as the best in their respective fields at the national scale,” said Lt. Col. Daniel Nelsen, commander of the 131st Civil Engineer Squadron. "With over 90 Prime BEEF, RED HORSE, and Staff-Augmentation Teams, to be named as the first or second-best demonstrates their professionalism and impact to our mission.”

The recipients and their awards are:
Ms. Sage O’Brien received the Douglas K. Anders Environmental Excellence Award (SEO of the Year)
Mr. Larry Thompson received the Air Force Outstanding Manager of the Year Award (Supervisor)
Master Sgt. Erik M. Fisko received the S.A.M.E Goddard Medal

“It’s an honor to be selected for this award,” said Master Sgt. Erik M. Fisko, structures shop supervisor for the 131st Civil Engineer Squadron. “Thank you to my family, friends and leadership for their continued support throughout my military career and helping get me to this point.”

The squadron’s accolades in this year's awards also include several runners-up.

Mrs. Katherine E. Goudy for the Air Force Outstanding Manager of the Year Award (Manager), Mr. John Matthews for the Outstanding State DOD CE Manager of the Year Award, and Senior Airman Mary O. Bransford for the Major General Eugene A. Lupia Award.

“To see three 131st Engineers win outright, and another three be named runners-up in their respective categories is very rewarding,” said Nelsen. “Our people do great things, and it’s fantastic to see them recognized and publicized across the whole civil engineer enterprise.”