An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

148th SOPS and 216th SPCS earn 2020 National Guard Space Awards

  • Published
  • By Master Sgt. Jeffrey Schultze
  • 195th Wing Public Affairs

BEALE AIR FORCE BASE, Calif. – Two 195th Wing units located at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California; the 148th Space Operations Squadron and the 216th Space Control Squadron earned 2020 National Guard Space Awards.  Maj. Gen. Gregory T. White, National Guard director of space operations announced the annual winners on June 17, 2021.

The 148th SOPS earned the “Best Space Operations Crew Award” as well as Capt. David Amiel earning “Space Operator of the Year” in the Company Grade Officer category. 216th SPCS Senior Airman Carl Ritacco earned the “Space Operator of the Year” in the Airmen category.

“I could not be any prouder of the accomplishments of both the 148th SOPS and 216th SPCS. The awards truly highlight the 195th Wing’s impact in the Space Force and showcase the amazing talent of our Space professionals,” said Col. Robert M. Sage, 195th Wing commander. “They are doing amazing work and I look forward to their next accomplishments.”

The mission of the 148th SOPS is to operate the Air Force's protected MILSATCOM systems which provide the warfighter with communications during peacetime, and throughout the full spectrum of conflict.

While the 216th SPCS conducts offensive and defensive space control and space situational awareness missions to rapidly achieve flexible and versatile effects in support of global and theater campaigns. Provide mission ready citizen-Airmen and equipment to Combatant Commanders in support of operations worldwide. 

The category winners will now move on to compete at the U.S. Space Force level, with winners announced later this year.